Sunday, July 30, 2017
Sunday, July 30, 2017

Team TTO on course to defend title

KINGSTON, Jamaica, Sunday July 30, 2017:

Trinidad and Tobago remained on course to defend their Caribbean Association of Volleyball Associations (CAZOVA) Women’s Championship title with a 3-1 victory over Suriname in the first semi-final, at the National Indoor Sports Centre last night.

After surprisingly losing the first set 21-25, the Trinidadians quickly recovered and stamped their class on the way to winning the next three sets 25-17, 25-16, 25-14.

Channon Thompson and Krystle Esdelle led the Trinidad and Tobago charge, accounting for 38 of their team’s 96 points. Thompson blasted 16 kills in a game-high 20 points and Esdelle nailed 10 kills in her 18-point tally. Darlene Ramdin also scored well for the twin-island republic, while contributing seven points on serve with Nya Steele, who tallied four.

There was not much difference between the countries on the error sheet, with Suriname’s 29 one more than the Trinidad and Tobago count.

As usual, Sandrina Hunsel led the scoring for Suriname. She thumped in 21 points, the game’s high-score. Eighteen of those points were kills and Hunsel got major support from Sigourney Kame, who slammed away seven kills among her eight points.

Trinidad and Tobago will play hosts Jamaica in Monday's final, following the home team's 25-18, 25-12, 25-19 victory over Guadeloupe in the night's second semi-final.

This tournament is also the International Volleyball Association (FIVB) Round Two World Championship Qualifier. Trinidad and Tobago are already assured one of the spots, while the other will go to the next highest ranked team in the tournament.

The crucial FIVB Round Three elimination will be hosted by three countries later this year, with each being a four-team tournament. The first will be staged in Canada from September 26-30; Trinidad and Tobago will host the second from October 4-9; while the third will be held in the Dominican Republic from October 11-16.


Six teams – the top two from each group – will advance to the 2018 World Championship, that will run from September 29 to October 20.

comments powered by Disqus