Tuesday, August 14, 2018
Tuesday, August 14, 2018

Suriname’s Sporklede is CAZOVA MVP

PARIMARIBO, Suriname, August 14 – After leading Suriname to their first ever title in the 17th edition of the Men’s CAZOVA (Caribbean Zonal Volleyball Association) Championships, Keven Sporkslede captured three individual awards during the closing ceremony here tonight at the Ismay Van Wilgen Sporthal.

In addition to being the Best Outside Hitter and Top Scorer, the explosive No. 7 also secured the most prestigious off all the individual prizes – the one for Most Valuable Player (MVP).

The hosts finished with five of the 12 awards as Gino Naaden, who was also high up on the list in the scoring category, was Best Outsider Hitter 2 and their other prolific scorer Zefano Breinburg was the Best Opposite Hitter.

Despite losing all four matches to finish at the rear of the five-team field, Haiti collected three individual prizes, the same amount at bronze-medallist Trinidad and Tobago and two more than silver-medallists Bahamas.

Their No. 11 Jean Philippe Bayol, another one of the impressive scorers of the tournament, was the Best Server and his teammate Pedro Cedme was adjudged Best Digger and Best Libero.

Marc Honore, who had received the prize for Best Blocker in the CAC (Central America and the Caribbean) Games a couple weeks earlier, earned this award and his T&T teammate Mikheil Hoyte was voted Best Blocker 2.

Kameron Donald collected the other prize for the team which had won the last two editions of the tournament when he was named Best Setter.

Bahamas’ only individual prize was the one presented to Renaldo Knowles for Best Receiver.

Ten-time champs Barbados finished fourth and was the only team not to collect any individual awards.




OUTSIDER HITTER 1 – #7 – Keven Sporklede (SUR)

OUTSIDER HITTER 2 – #20 – Gino Naarden (SUR)

BEST BLOCKER 1 – #14 – Marc Honore (T&T)

BEST BLOCKER 2 – #10 – Mikheil Hoyte (T&T)

BEST DIGGER – #1 – Pedro Cedme (HAI)

BEST RECEIVER – #3 – Renaldo Knowles (BAH)

BEST LIBERO – #1 – Pedro Cedme (HAI)

BEST SERVER – #11 – Jean Philippe Bayol (HAI)

BEST SETTER – #8 – Kameron Donald (T&T)

BEST OPPOSITE HITTER – #9 - Zefano Breinburg (SUR)

TOP SCORER – #7 – Keven Sporklede (SUR)

MOST VALUABLE PLAYER – # 7 Keven Sporklede (SUR)



comments powered by Disqus